Hi, there WordPress fan, in this article, I will share my experience to protect my resource such as ebooks, images, files and share it with my subscribe users. Hopefully, it will be useful to you, especially the people who work in content, writer, and author.

1. What is my problem?

Last week, I just finished my ebook “Travel tips in Vietnam” talking about the small and precious experience when I am traveling in Vietnam. I uploaded and stored it in my WordPress media.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 3.31.09 PM

Well, now I want to protect the travelTipsInVN file and share with the users who subscribed my blog. I spent few hours on researching and googling the proper and fast way to solve my problem. Thanks to WordPress to create a GREAT platform for developers to contribute with a ton of plugins to help users, finally, I found the one I need at https://wordpress.org/plugins/prevent-direct-access/

2. How to I resolve the problem?

After installing the plugin, my WordPress media has one more column namely “Prevent Direct Access”, where I can protect my “travelTipsInVN” file.
Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 3.41.44 PM

Great! When I tick “Protect this file” is when the magic happens, the Prevent Direct Access plugin protects my files and gives me a private link where I can share to my targeted users.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 3.50.45 PM

The plugin also has some advantage features such as customize the private link, tracking your private link click totals, create a lifetime for secret links in the premium version.

Thanks for your reading and enjoy blogging with WordPress.